Share Topic
Report Content
Interested in this topic? Be the first to follow.
Ask a question
Sort by:
Christine Canales
Bullet point
over 6 months ago

#ScamDissection #Scam Email number twwwwwwwo: This one is arguably the hardest one I've come across.

There isn't a picture of a person's face, but there is a picture there. No gramatical errors, has first and last name both in the email and the salutations, not asking me to download anything, the website linked actually has webinar in it and looks legitimate...interviews will be over zoom, has the disclaimer at the end...

Totally legit right?


The email #domainname ends with "Applytojob.com" which no company in their right mind would use.

The webinar link may very well be legitimate - but I'm not going to click on it until the company #verifies the employee works there (she does not). Sarah Garcia seems like a #legitimate name and isn't foreign (not that all foreign names are fraud!!! It's just a trend I've seen in scams and one that I keep an eye out for).

There's no telephone number - not a deal breaker but most #professionals have them.

No department name but a title is there.

The biggest flag in this case is the domain name. The company uses AILLife.com and this simply doesn't match.

If you believe you have been the #victim of a #fraud or have been contacted by a fraudulant party, please remember to report it to ReportFraud.ftc.gov/#/ and the company that is being victimized.

#Tips #ScamAlert #Knowwhosinterviewing #Exposed #Email

Christine Canales
Bullet point
over 6 months ago

I thought I would pick this message apart and give a few tips on the flags I got with it.


  1. He/she doesn't have a last name or a profile picture.
  2. I did not apply for a job at this company.
  3. "Mr. Steve" - he/she didn't provide a first and last name and used the person's first name.
  4. "to confirm your availability" - "The interview has been scheduled for--" - If it's to confirm my availability, then they won't schedule it. It seems as though official employers won't schedule appointments without asking but...I haven't heard from anyone...so this is speculation on my end.
  5. The email ends in "gmail .com" - Be leery of these.
  6. A name was not put at the end of the message but rather the company's name. (Which does not match the name on the site mind you.)
  7. It was sent on a Saturday at 11:03pm - Keep in mind that you may be contacted by companies in a different time zone BUT if you are looking for a regular hourly paid job, it's highly unlikely that they would contact you after hours. This particular person stated they were EST time zone which means they sent this at midnight their time.

That's my #ScamDissection for the day.

I hope it helps others who are like me, and desperately looking for work.

#JobSeekers #Scamalert #Knowwhosinterviewing #fraudprevention