When working a job in Louisiana and being paid bi-weekly! Well one week I would work 60 hours on week I would work 25-26 hours and instead of giving me 20 hrs of overtime for that first week they Combine those two weeks and would only give 5-6 hrs of overtime is this against the law? And who do I contact for this? TIA GOD BLESS #overtime #overtimehours #advice
Paying Overtime: No overtime laws exist in Louisiana, so employers are subject to the federal laws. This specifies that workers must be paid 1 1/2 times their regular rate of pay for each hour over 40 hours they work in a week. Federal overtime regulations cover most employers, but there are a number of exemptions. Bi-weekly Pay Periods
An employee may work only 80 hours in a pay period but still be due overtime. For example, if the employee works 45 hours in one week but only 35 the next week (total 80 in the pay period), they would still be entitled to 5 hours of overtime for the 5 hours worked over 40 hours in the first week.